College Football Hodge Podge

There is but one game in the college football season, afterwards the amount I care about football will dip considerably. There’s still a few debates out there though.

The great Jameis Winston vs. Marcus Mariota argument

Marcus Mariota

If I was the GM of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, I would take Mariota and hire someone from Oregon, starting with Mark Helfrich and working my way down, to teach the team the Oregon offense.

Now, I do think the system quarterback criticism is interesting. Mariota throws to a lot of open receivers — I’m not going to act like he doesn’t. On one hand, Sam Bradford was called a system quarterback and I’m very open about my dislike for the former Oklahoma QB. However, the No. 1 criticism against Aaron Rodgers was that he was a system quarterback. This just in: Aaron Rodgers is the best QB in football.

My point is that the system quarterback stuff is bull crap and if teams are that worried about it install the system for your particularly offensive challenged team.

I don’t think Winston is going to bad. If I was taking Winston I would run the same offense Baltimore used with young Joe Flacco, which is pound the ball on the ground and throw deep, The one place where Winston is undoubtedly a better quarterback (other than attracting off the field attention) than Mariota is his ability to throw bombs.

Who I would hire to be my NFL coach

jim_harbaugh

I swear this will lead to a college football point. Here’s my top NFL coaching candidates:

  • Mark Helfrich
  • Urban Meyer (especially if Ohio State wins)
  • Art Briles
  • Kevin Sumlin
  • Hue Jackson
  • Teryl Austin
  • Rex Ryan

What I would avoid like the plague is any guy who was an NFL coach and now is not, except for Sexy Rexy who had some unfortunate circumstances. Any one who wants to give Mike Shanahan a job deserves to have their young star quarterbacks ruined. So there’s no way anyone would give Mike Martz or Brian Billick a job, right? Why isn’t Mike Shanahan looked at as Stegosaurus? Sure Brian Billick was lucky to have the greatest defense of all time. Shanahan had John Elway and road Terrell Davis into the ground. And that was 15 years ago.

The problem with my list is that college coaches may not want to leave the friendly confines of their local campuses. Jim Harbaugh is showing everyone that you can make just as much money and not have to deal with as much crap. Win-win. Brian Schottenheimer just left an offensive coordinator position with the Rams to take and o coordinator position at Georgia. Normally that’s a big step down, but these days …

Who I like in the national title game

oregon_ducks

I think a concept that does not get discussed enough by ESPN types is the idea of having a deserving program. I understand that it is a subjective and fluid though. But, Oregon has paid its dues as a program. The Ducks have progressively gotten better and better since the Joey Harrington days in the early 2000s. It’s undoubtedly the power program in the Pac 12 and it would take a fat recruiting scandal to ruin that. They should have a national title.

While it was wonderful that the Buckeyes defeated Alabama, I know their fans will be the biggest of beat downs if Ohio State wins the title. Even though 2002 was a dozen years ago, it’s not long enough to bring a title back to Columbus. They need to wait another decade.

Leave a Reply

